top of page
  • Writer's pictureMary

Humble beginnings

This is my first ever attempt on writing a blog so, let's hope I can make this interesting!


Hello everyone, It's Mary here and I just wanted to mainly talk about what's going on in my life right now. I plan on treating this blog as a bit of a crochet diary so I can look back on my journey years from now and see where I came from. I've been extremely busy the past week because I have my first ever craft market coming soon! It's a bit of a distance away, like a 40 minute drive, but I am super excited to do it!


I'm doing this market with my friends Stephanie and Chelsea, who are also making a few things. But at the end of the day, it is mostly my project and my job to fill the table. We are making a variety of items, but I am mostly making crochet dolls and having that be my main selling point. I'm thinking my table will probably appeal to kids the most for that reason so I'm trying to make other things kids may like. Stickers, pins, bracelets, earrings, mostly cheap things a younger audience can actually afford.


As of now, I've spent the last week doing nothing but making things and I have a plastic shopping bag filled with plushies I plan on selling. Even if it is a lot of work, I am trying to keep my prices low. I really want to at least break even, so if I have a lot of things for cheap it will encourage people to buy I think. Maybe? I don't know. I'm kind of just throwing everything at a wall in hopes something will stick. I plan on doing more markets if I like this one, so if I don't sell out I can always bring it to another market. We shall see.


One thing I feel like is going to be a problem is the fact I'll need a tent. The event is outdoors and it's kinda customary to have a tent over your shop. Makes shops feel more divided I guess? But either way, it's a lot of money which I don't have. I hope I can ask family or friends to borrow a tent from them, given that they even have one. It's a 10 by 10 inch space so, I'm looking for a common size at least.


But yeah, that's all for now. I want to keep this short for a first post. I'll be sure to update as time goes on! Thank you for reading.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page